





For information only—not an official document

Timeline

Seventy Years of the United Nations

	1945	The Charter of the United Nations is signed on 26 June in San Francisco. It enters into force for 51 founding Member States on 24 October.
	1946	Trygve Lie (Norway) becomes the first Secretary-General of the United Nations.
	1948	The Universal Declaration of Human Rights is proclaimed.
		The first United Nations peacekeeping operation is established, United Nations truce supervision in the Middle East.
	1953	Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden) becomes the second Secretary-General of the United Nations.
	1955	Austria joins the United Nations.
	1957	Foundation of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) with headquarters in Vienna.
	1959	The United Nations General Assembly adopts the Declaration of the Rights of the Child.
	1961	The United Nations Secretary-General is killed in a plane crash and posthumously awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.
		U Thant (Myanmar) becomes the third Secretary-General of the United Nations.
	1965	Security Council membership increases from 11 to 15.
	1966	Foundation of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), headquartered in Vienna.
	1969	The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD) comes into force.
	1971	Kurt Waldheim (Austria) becomes the fourth Secretary-General of the United Nations.
	1975	The World Conference of International Women's Year.
	1979	The Vienna International Centre is opened.
	1980	The United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV) is established as one of the United Nations' Headquarters.







1981 Javier Pérez de Cuéllar (Peru) becomes the fifth Secretary-General of the United Nations.

1988 United Nations Peacekeeping is awarded the Nobel Prize.

1990 The World Summit for Children.



1991 Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt) becomes the sixth Secretary-General of the United Nations.

1992 World leaders convene in Brazil for the Earth Summit.

1993 The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) moves to the Vienna International Centre.

1996 Boutros-Ghali declares the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty open for signature.



Kofi Annan (Ghana) becomes the seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Establishment of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) with headquarters in Vienna.

1997 Establishment of the Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention, which later became the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) with headquarters in Vienna.

2000 World leaders gather at the United Nations Millennium Summit and agree on eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

2001 The Nobel Peace Prize is conferred on the United Nations and the Secretary-General for "their efforts in favour of a better organized and more peaceful world".

2005 The Peacebuilding Commission is established.

2006 The Human Rights Council is created.



2007 Ban Ki-moon (Republic of Korea) becomes the eighth Secretary-General of the United Nations.

2010 The General Assembly creates UN Women—an entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women.

2012 The United Nations Rio+20 Earth Summit in Brazil constructs new policies for global economic development and environmental protection.

2015 The United Nations celebrates its seventieth birthday.

Time for Global Action: Member States set to agree on a series of Sustainable Development Goals in September and, in December, a deal to tackle climate change.

