30 Years Vienna International Centre

30 Years Vienna International Centre

The Vienna International Centre (VIC), home to the United Nations family in Vienna and, along with New York, Geneva and Nairobi, one of four United Nations headquarters worldwide, marks its 30th anniversary in 2009.

The construction of the Vienna International Centre, designed by Austrian architect Johann Staber, began in 1973. On 23 August 1979, the Vienna International Centre was handed over to the United Nations and the International Atomic Energy Agency and today is commonly referred to by the Viennese as "UNO City".

The Vienna International Centre is home to the following members of the United Nations family: Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River (ICPDR), International Narcotics Control Board (INCB), United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL), United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Vienna Office/Interim Secretariat of the Carpathian Convention, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) Office in Austria, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), United Nations Information Service (UNIS) Vienna, United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV), United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA), United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), United Nations Office of Internal Oversight Services (OIOS), United Nations Postal Administration (UNPA), United Nations Register of Damage Caused by the Construction of the Wall in the Occupied Palestinian Territory (UNRoD) and United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR).

For further information:

Information kit (PDF)

30 Ways the United Nations in Vienna Makes a Difference (PDF)