For information only - not an official document.
Press Release No:  UNIS/NAR/687
Release Date:    11 May 2000
International Narcotics Control Board to Review Compliance 
With Drug Control Treaties in Meeting from 15 to 26 May

 VIENNA, 11 May (UN Information Service) — Reviewing measures Member States have taken to comply with the international drug control treaties in the past six month will be the main focus of attention for the Vienna-based International Narcotics Control Board (INCB) as it meets here from 15 to26 May for its 68th session behind closed doors.

 The Board last met in November to assess the functioning of the international drug control treaties. The INCB, as a quasi-judicial organ of the United Nations, set up in 1968, is mandated to monitor the compliance of governments with the three international drug control treaties -- the 1961 Single Convention on Narcotic drugs, the 1971 Convention on Psychotropic Substances and the 1988 United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances.

 The Board issues a report annually which contains its main findings as regards the functioning of the international drug control regime as well as on the latest world wide trends in drug abuse and illicit trafficking. Each annual report has a main theme as its focus. Last year’s report, issued on 23 February 2000, addressed the inadequate medical supply of narcotic drugs, especially in developing countries, to relieve pain and suffering.

 Situations of overconsumption of internationally controlled substances exist in many developed countries and can provoke widespread abuse. This will be the focus of this year’s report.

 The Board, during its session, will review its cooperation with more than 200 countries and territories, will discuss shortcomings in national drug control systems and formulate proposals to Governments to overcome such deficiencies.  The Board will also make confidential country-level drug control assessments, based on its most recent findings during missions it undertook since its last meeting. Those missions were to Albania, Australia, Ireland, Paraguay, Russian Federation and Uruguay.

 The Board is composed of thirteen independent experts elected in their individual capacities by the Economic and Social Council. At the current session four new members will begin their work for the Board which is also expected to elect a new President to replace outgoing President António Lourenço Martins (Portugal).


 The thirteen members of the Board are: Edouard Armenakovich Babayan (Russian Federation), Chinmay Chakrabarty (India), Dr. Nelia P. Cortes-Maramba (Philippines), Philip Emafo (Nigeria)*, Jacques Franquet (France), Dr. Hamid Ghodse (Iran), Nüzhet Kandemir (Turkey)*, Dil Jan Khan (Pakistan), Maria Elena Medina Mora (Mexico)*, Herbert S. Okun (United States of America), Dr. Alfredo Pemjean (Chile), Sergio Uribe Ramirez (Colombia) and Jiwang Zheng (China)*.

  Those with asterix are new members of the Board.

* * * * *