Press Releases

    29 April 2002


    NEW YORK, 26 April (UN Headquarters) -- Following is the press statement on East Timor delivered today by Security Council President Sergey Lavrov (Russian Federation):

    The Members of the Security Council warmly welcomed the participation in the Security Council meeting of Xanana Gusmão, President-elect of East Timor, and Mari Bin Amude Alkatiri, Chief Minister of East Timor, and heard their statements.

    They also heard the welcoming statement by Secretary-General Kofi Annan.

    The Members of the Security Council have thoroughly considered proposals for the United Nations role in East Timor after independence put forward in the latest report of the Secretary-General (S/2002/432 and Add.1) presented by Assistant Secretary-General Hédi Annabi.

    The Members of the Security Council note with satisfaction that the United Nations has made a historic contribution to the transition of East Timor from a Non-Self-Governing Territory through a United Nations Transitional Administration to an independent State.

    The Members of the Security Council pay a special tribute to Sergio Vieira de Mello for his tireless efforts as the Transitional Administrator for East Timor and welcome the new Special Representative, Kamalesh Sharma.

    The Members of the Security Council share the view that the United Nations system should continue to play an important role in further assisting the people of East Timor together with the bilateral and multilateral donors, regional mechanisms, non-governmental organizations, private sector and other actors from within the international community.

    The Members of the Security Council look forward to establishing the United Nations Mission of Support in East Timor. It will succeed the United Nations Transitional Administration in East Timor immediately after 20 May Independence Day; they also welcome the forthcoming United Nations membership of the new State.

    * *** *