Press Releases

    16 December 2002


    Resolution 1449 (2002) Adopted Unanimously

    NEW YORK, 13 December (UN Headquarters) -- The Security Council this afternoon forwarded to the General Assembly 23 nominations for positions as permanent judges of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

    The nominees, listed in resolution 1449 (2002) which was adopted unanimously, were: Mansoor Ahmad (Pakistan); Teimuraz Bakradze (Georgia); Kocou Arsène Capo-Chichi (Benin); Frederick Mwela Choba (Zambia); Pavel Dolene (Slovenia); Serguei Aleckseievich Egorov (Russian Federation); Robert Fremr (Czech Republic); Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana (Sri Lanka); Mehmet Güney (Turkey); Michel Mahouve (Cameroon); Winston Churchill Matanzima Maqutu (Lesotho); Erik Møse (Norway); Arlette Ramaroson (Madagascar); Jai Ram Reddy (Fiji); William Hussoin Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania); Emile Francis Short (Ghana); Francis M. Ssekandi (Uganda); Cheick Traoré (Mali); Xenofon Ulianovschi (Republic of Moldova); Andrésia Vaz (Senegal); Inés Mónica Weinberg de Roca (Argentina); Mohammed Ibrahim Werfalli (Libya); and Lloyd George Williams (Saint Kitts and Nevis).

    The Council had received the nominations for permanent judges for the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda from the Secretary-General.

    On 11 October, the Council had extended the deadline for nominations, set at 14 October, because the number of nominations received was short of the minimum number of 22. [See Press Release SC/7526 of 11 October.]

    The Council created the Rwanda Tribunal, located in Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania, in November 1994, to prosecute people responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994. The Tribunal may also deal with the prosecution of Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations of international law committed in neighbouring States over the same period.

    On 14 August, the Council, acting under Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter, unanimously adopted resolution 1431 (2001), which amended articles 11, 12 and 13 of the Statute in order to establish a pool of ad litem judges to enable the Tribunal to expedite the conclusion of its work as early as possible. [See Press Release SC/7482 of 14 August.]

    The meeting began at 3:35 p.m. and adjourned at 3:38 p.m.


    The full text of Security Council resolution 1449 (2002) reads, as follows:

    "The Security Council,

    Recalling its resolutions 955 (1994) of 8 November 1994, 1165 (1998) of 30 April 1998, 1329 (2000) of 30 November 2000, 1411 (2002) of 17 May 2002 and 1431 (2002) of 14 August 2002,

    Having considered the nominations for permanent judges of the International Tribunal for Rwanda received by the Secretary-General,

    Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with article 12 bis, paragraph 1 (d), of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

    Mr. Mansoor Ahmad (Pakistan)

    Mr. Teimuraz Bakradze (Georgia)

    Mr. Kocou Arsène Capo-Chichi (Benin)

    Mr. Frederick Mwela Chomba (Zambia)

    Mr. Pavel Dolene (Slovenia)

    Mr. Serguei Aleckseievich Egorov (Russian Federation)

    Mr. Robert Fremr (Czech Republic)

    Mr. Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana (Sri Lanka)

    Mr. Mehmet Güney (Turkey)

    Mr. Michel Mahouve (Cameroon)

    Mr. Winston Churchill Matanzima Maqutu (Lesotho)

    Mr. Erik Møse (Norway)

    Ms. Arlette Ramaroson (Madagascar)

    Mr. Jai Ram Reddy (Fiji)

    Mr. William Hussoin Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)

    Mr. Emile Francis Short (Ghana)

    Mr. Francis M. Ssekandi (Uganda)

    Mr. Cheick Traoré (Mali)

    Mr. Xenofon Ulianovschi (Republic of Moldova)

    Ms. Andrésia Vaz (Senegal)

    Ms. Inés Mónica Weinberg de Roca (Argentina)

    Mr. Mohammed Ibrahim Werfalli (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)

    Mr. Lloyd George Williams (Saint Kitts and Nevis)

    * *** *