30 April 2003

Security Council Forwards 'Ad Litem' Judge Nominations for Rwanda Tribunal to General Assembly

NEW YORK, 29 April (UN Headquarters) -- Having considered the nominations for ad litem judges of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, the Security Council this afternoon forwarded a list of 35 candidates to the General Assembly.

Contained in resolution 1477 (2003), which was unanimously adopted by the Council, the list is to be used for selection of a pool of 18 ad litem judges, which was established by Council resolution 1431 (2002) to expedite the work of the Tribunal. It is envisioned that the appointment of such judges will provide additional judicial manpower in order to complete trials by 2008, instead of the original tentative date of 2017.

Prior to today's meeting, the Council had extended the deadline for the nomination of the ad litem judges until 15 April, as the number of nominations received from States fell short of the minimum number required. As specified in the Tribunal's Statute, the Council was to create for transmission to the General Assembly a list of 36 candidates. In his letter dated 21 April, by which he forwarded the list to the Council (document S/2003/467), the Secretary-General notes that the number of nominations still remains short of the minimum number of 36.

The Council created the Tribunal, located in Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania, in November 1994, to prosecute people responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994. The Tribunal may also deal with the prosecution of Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other violations of international law committed in neighbouring States over the same period.

The meeting was called to order at 3:35 p.m. and was adjourned at 3:39 p.m.


The full text of resolution 1477 (2003) reads, as follows:

"The Security Council,

"Recalling its resolutions 955 (1994) of 8 November 1994, 1165 (1998) of 30 April 1998, 1329 (2000) of 30 November 2000, 1411 (2002) of 17 May 2002 and 1431 (2002) of 14 August 2002,

"Having considered the nominations for ad litem judges of the International Tribunal for Rwanda received by the Secretary-General,

"Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with article 12 ter, paragraph 1 (d), of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

Ms. Achta Saker Abdoul (Chad)

Mr. Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey)

Ms. Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon)

Mr. Abdoulaye Barry (Burkina Faso)

Mr. Miguel Antonio Bernal (Panama)

Ms. Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda)

Mr. Robert Fremr (Czech Republic)

Mr. Silvio Guerra Morales (Panama)

Ms. Taghreed Hikmat (Jordan)

Ms. Karin Hökborg (Sweden)

Mr. Vagn Joensen (Denmark)

Mr. Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso)

Mr. Joseph-Médard Kaba Kashala Katuala (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

Ms. Engera A. Kileo (United Republic of Tanzania)

Ms. Nathalia P. Kimaro (United Republic of Tanzania)

Ms. Agnieszka Klonowiecka-Milart (Poland)

Ms. Flavia Lattanzi (Italy)

Mr. Kenneth Machin (United Kingdom)

Mr. Joseph Edward Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)

Mr. Patrick Matibini (Republic of Zambia)

Mr. Edouard Ngarta Mbaïouroum (Chad)

Mr. Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

Mr. Tan Sri Dato 'Hj. Mohd. Azmi Dato 'Hj. Kamaruddin (Malaysia)

Mr. Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya)

Mr. Laurent Ngaoundi (Chad)

Ms. Beradingar Ngonyame (Chad)

Mr. Daniel David Ntanda Nsereko (Uganda)

Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)

Ms. Tatiana Răducanu (Republic of Moldova)

Mr. Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar)

Mr. Edward Mukandara K. Rutakangwa (United Republic of Tanzania)

Mr. Emile Francis Short (Ghana)

Mr. Albertus Henricus Joannes Swart (Netherlands)

Mr. Xenofon Ulianovschi (Republic of Moldova)

Ms. Aura Emérita Guerra de Villalaz (Panama)

* *** *