Press Releases

    26 February 2004

    Security Council Committee on Sierra Leone Issues Revised List

    NEW YORK, 25 February (UN Headquarters) -- The Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1132 (1997) concerning Sierra Leone, on 24 February 2004, decided to remove two names from the list of individuals affected by the measures contained in paragraph 5 of resolution 1171 (1998), which reads as follows:

    “The Security Council ...

    Decides that all States shall prevent the entry into or transit through their territories of leading members of the former military junta and of the Revolutionary United Front (RUF), as designated by the Committee established by resolution 1132 (1997), provided that the entry into or transit through a particular State of any such person may be authorized by the same Committee, and provided that nothing in this paragraph shall oblige a State to refuse entry to its territory to its own nationals;”

    The names of the individuals removed from the list on 24 February 2004 are as follows: 

    1. Bokarie (Bockarie), Sam/Colonel, a.k.a. Commander Moskita (“Maskita”)

    2. Sankoh, Foday Sayabana/Corporal  

    The original list of persons affected by the above measures was issued by the Committee on 8 January 1998 (SC/6464), and was subsequently published in Security Council Press Releases SC/6472 and SC/6808.  The list was amended on 1 February 2001 by the removal of the name of Mr. Solomon A.J. Musa (SC/7005).  A revised list was issued on 6 June 2003, reflecting the removal of eight persons (SC/7782/Rev.1).  The names of the persons removed from the list by the Committee can be found in the Annexes at the end of the list.  The revised list is reproduced in full below.  It can be accessed on the Internet at the following URL:

    * *** *