Press Releases

    15 October 2004

    Security Council Forwards to General Assembly List of 22 Candidates for Judges of Former Yugoslavia Tribunal

    NEW YORK, 14 October (UN Headquarters) -- Having considered the nominations for permanent judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, the Security Council this afternoon forwarded a list of 22 candidates to the General Assembly.

    Contained in resolution 1567 (2004), which was unanimously adopted by the Council, the list is to be used for the election of 14 permanent judges by the General Assembly for the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia.

    According to the Tribunal’s statute, the Secretary-General forwards a list of not less than 28 and not more than 42 nominations to the Security Council.  The Council President then transmits a list of 28 candidates to the General Assembly, from which it selects 14 of the permanent judges of the International Tribunal.  Elected for a four-year term, the permanent judges serve on a full-time basis and are eligible for re-election.

    In his letter dated 21 September 2004 (document S/2004/754), by which he forwards the list of nominations to the Council, the Secretary-General notes that the number of nominations received remains short of the minimum number of 28 that should appear in the Council’s list for transmission to the Assembly.

    Located in The Hague, the International Tribunal was established by Security Council resolution 827 of May 1993 to prosecute and try persons responsible for serious violations of international humanitarian law committed on the territory of the former Yugoslavia since 1991.

    The meeting began at 6:10 p.m. and was adjourned at 6:12 p.m.

    The full text of the resolution reads as follows:

    “The Security Council,

    “Recalling its resolutions 827 (1993) of 25 May 1993, 1166 (1998) of 13 May 1998, 1329 (2000) of 30 November 2000, 1411 (2002) of 17 May 2002, 1481 (2003) of 19 May 2003, 1503 (2003) of 28 August 2003 and 1534 (2004) of 26 March 2004,

    “Having considered the nominations for Permanent Judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia received by the Secretary-General,

    “Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with Article 13 bis (1) (d) of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

    Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)
    Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
    Mr. Iain Bonomy (United Kingdom)
    Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
    Mr. Mohamed Amin El-Abbassi El Mahdi (Egypt)
    Mr. Elhagi Abdulkader Emberesh (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)
    Mr. Rigoberto Espinal Irias (Honduras)
    Mr. O-gon Kwon (Republic of Korea)
    Mr. Theodor Meron (United States of America)
    Mr. Bakone Melema Moloto (South Africa)
    Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
    Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie (Netherlands)
    Mr. Kevin Horace Parker (Australia)
    Mr. Fausto Pocar (Italy)
    Mr. Yenyi Olungu (Democratic Republic of the Congo)
    Mr. Sharada Prasad Pandit (Nepal)
    Ms. Vonimbolana Rasoazanany (Madagascar)
    Mr. Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica)
    Mr. Wolfgang Schomburg (Germany)
    Mr. Mohamed Shahabuddeen (Guyana)
    Ms. Christine Van den Wyngaert (Belgium)
    Mr. Volodymyr A. Vassylenko (Ukraine)”.

    * *** *