Press Releases

    4 November 2005

    Budget Committee Recommends Appointments to Five Subsidiary Bodies

    NEW YORK, 3 November (UN Headquarters) -- The Fifth Committee (Administrative and Budgetary) this morning recommended to the General Assembly appointments to five subsidiary and other bodies:  the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ), the Committee on Contributions, the Investment Committee of the United Nations Staff Pension Fund, the International Civil Service Commission (ICSC) and the Board of Auditors.

    Tommo Monthe of Cameroon, Igor V. Khalevinski of the Russian Federation, Guillermo Kendall of Argentina, Susan McLurg of the United States and Christina Vasak of France were recommended for appointment for a three-year term of office to the ACABQ, by acclamation, to replace five members, whose terms of office are expiring on 31 December this year.

    To fill a vacancy that will arise on 30 June 2006 on the United Nations Board of Auditors, the Committee recommended, by acclamation, the Auditor-General of South Africa for reappointment to that body, for a six-year term beginning on 1 July 2006.

    Minoru Endo of Japan, Gilberto Paranhos Velloso of Brazil, Lucretia Myers of the United States, Wolfgang Stockl of Germany, and Gian Luigi Valenza of Italy were recommended for appointment or re-appointment as members of the International Civil Service Commission (ICSC) for a four-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2006.

    The Committee also recommended, by acclamation, the confirmation of three candidates appointed by the Secretary-General for the Pension Fund's Investments Committee:  Madhav Dhar of India, Nemir Kirdar of Iraq and Masakazu Arikawa of Japan.  Their three-year term of office would begin on 1 January 2006.

    With the number of candidates for the Committee on Contributions from the Group of Eastern European States, the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States and the Group of Western European and Other States corresponding to the number of vacancies for those groups, the Fifth Committee recommended, also by acclamation, that Vyacheslav A. Logutov of the Russian Federation, Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto of Brazil, Sujata Ghorai of Germany and Richard Moon of the United Kingdom be appointed to that body.  Their three-year term of office will begin on 1 January 2006.

    Since there were three candidates to fill two vacant seats on the Committee on Contributions from the Group of Asian States, recommendations for those vacancies were made through secret ballot.  Following one round of voting on the candidacies of Najib Elji of Syria, Park Hae-yun of the Republic of Korea and Wu Gang of China, Park Hae-yun and Wu Gang were recommended to fill the vacancies.

    The results of the voting were as follows:  The number of ballots cast -- 160; invalid ballots -- 1; number of valid ballots -- 159; abstentions -- 0; number of delegations voting -- 160; required majority -- 81.  Mr. Wu received 115 votes; Mr. Park received 110 votes; and Mr. Elji received 82 votes.

    The Committee will take up a Joint Inspection Unit report on the conditions of travel within the United Nations system at 10 a.m. Tuesday, 8 November.

    * *** *