Press Releases

    1 July 2005

    Background Release

    Women's Anti-Discrimination Committee to Meet in New York, 5-22 July

    Will Consider Reports of Benin, Burkina Faso, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Gambia, Guyana, Ireland, Israel, Lebanon

    NEW YORK, 30 June (UN Headquarters) -- The Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women will convene its 33rd session next week at United Nations Headquarters.  From 5 to 22 July 2005, it will examine the reports of the following eight States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW):  Benin, Burkina Faso, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Gambia, Guyana, Ireland, Israel and Lebanon.

    In considering the reports of States parties to the Convention, the Committee will provide feedback to the eight reporting countries recognizing their progress in implementing CEDAW principles, as well as highlighting concerns and proposing recommendations on how to address challenges in applying the Convention more widely and consistently.  Members of the Committee are independent experts acting in their personal capacity.

    The Committee will also continue its work under the Optional Protocol to the Convention, which provides for a petition and an inquiry procedure regarding violations of the rights of women in States parties to the Convention. 

    The Convention, which currently has 180 States parties, requires them to eliminate discrimination against women in the enjoyment of all rights -- political, economic, social, cultural, civil and any other field -- and 71 of those States are also party to the Optional Protocol, providing a significant incentive to intensify their efforts to eliminate and prevent discrimination against women in law and in practice.

    Representatives of non-governmental organizations can submit alternative, or shadow non-governmental organization reports and present information to the CEDAW Committee members.  Non-governmental organizations will have the opportunity to address the CEDAW Committee on Tuesday 5 July and on Monday 11 July.


    Tuesday, 5 July: 10 a.m.:  Opening of session.

    3 - 4:30 p.m.: NGOs address the CEDAW Committee.

    Wednesday, 6 July: Israel's third periodic report considered.

    Thursday, 7 July: Benin's combined initial, second and third periodic report considered.

    Friday, 8 July: Guyana's combined third, fourth, fifth and sixth periodic report considered.

    Monday, 11 July: 3 - 4:30pm:  NGOs address the CEDAW Committee.

    Tuesday 12 July: Lebanon's combined initial and second periodic report considered.

    Wednesday, 13 July: Ireland's combined fourth and fifth report periodic considered.

    Thursday, 14 July: Burkina Faso's combined fourth and fifth periodic report considered.

    Friday, 15 July: Gambia's combined initial, second and third periodic report considered.

    Monday, 18 July: Democratic People's Republic of Korea's initial report considered.

    Friday, 22 July: Committee adopts final report on 33rd session.

    All open proceedings will take place in conference room 2.

    Committee Membership

    The following are members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women:  Ms. Magalys Arocha Domínguez (Cuba), Ms. Meriem Belmihoub-Zerdani (Vice-Chairperson) (Algeria), Ms. Dorcas Coker-Appiah (Ghana), Ms. Mary Shanthi Dairiam (Malaysia), Mr. Cornelis Flinterman (Netherlands), Ms. Naela Mohamed Gabr (Egypt), Ms. Françoise Gaspard (France), Ms. Huguette Bokpe Gnacadja (Benin), Ms. Salma Khan (Bangladesh), Ms. Tiziana Maiolo (Italy), Ms. Rosario G. Manalo (Chairperson) (Philippines), Ms. Krisztina Morvai (Hungary), Ms. Pramila Patten (Mauritius), Ms. Silvia Pimentel (Vice-Chairperson) (Brazil), Ms. Victoria Popescu (Romania), Ms. Fumiko Saiga (Japan), Ms. Hanna Beate Schöpp-Schilling (Vice-Chairperson) (Germany), Ms. Heisoo Shin (Republic of Korea), Ms. Glenda P. Simms (Jamaica), Ms. Dubravka Šimonović (Rapporteur) (Croatia), Ms. Anamah Tan (Singapore), Ms. Maria Regina Tavares da Silva (Portugal), Ms. Zou Xiaoqiao (China).

    For further information, please, contact:  Renata Sivacolundhu, Focal Point for Women's Issues, Development Section, UN Department of Public Information, tel.: +1 212 963 2932, e--mail: The provisional agenda, other background documents for the 33rd session, including the reports of the eight States parties and information on CEDAW can be found online at: .

    * *** *