Press Releases

    For information only - not an official document

    20 June 2016

    United Nations General Assembly elects new UNCITRAL Members

    VIENNA, 20 June (UN Information Service) - The General Assembly held elections on 17 June to fill the two remaining vacancies in the membership of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

    The General Assembly elected Burundi and Sri Lanka as members of UNCITRAL for a six-year term beginning on 27 June 2016 in addition to the following 28 States which were elected on 9 November 2015 and 15 April 2016: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Mauritius, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United States and Venezuela.

    The term of the following 30 States members of the Commission continues until 2019: Armenia, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Japan, Kuwait, Liberia, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Namibia, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Zambia.

    The outgoing members whose terms of office will expire on 26 June 2016 are: Algeria, Botswana, Croatia, Fiji, Gabon, Jordan and Paraguay.


    The United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) is the core legal body of the United Nations system in the field of international trade law. Its mandate is to remove legal obstacles to international trade by progressively modernizing and harmonizing trade law. It prepares legal texts in a number of key areas such as international commercial dispute settlement, electronic commerce, insolvency, international payments, sale of goods, transport law, procurement and infrastructure development. UNCITRAL also provides technical assistance to law reform activities, including assisting Member States to review and assess their law reform needs and to draft the legislation required to implement UNCITRAL texts. The UNCITRAL Secretariat is located in Vienna, Austria , and maintains a website at

    * *** *

    For information contact:

    Timothy Lemay
    Principal Legal Officer
    UNCITRAL Secretariat
    Email: timothy.lemay[at]